Back to Top
  Contact Us  
Judging Sapphire Quality

The 4 C’s of Sapphires

Like diamonds, quality in colored gemstones is assessed by four criteria:

  • Color
  • Clarity
  • Cut
  • Carat Weight

Unlike diamond however, sapphires and rubies alike, lack well defined, universally accepted quality standards, and color is, without question, the key factor in determining quality.  Sapphires occur in an enormous range of colors, and to some extent, each color has its own specific evaluation criteria. Because sapphires come in such a plethora of color, it is difficult to have a uniform standard of grading. By assessing these four factors in every sapphire, we create a fair system for judging each unique gemstone. The information provided within this section should help you better judge the quality of natural sapphires and rubies.

learn more: